A realistic guide to managing a panic attack

Growth Mindset Therapy Hub
4 min readJan 12, 2023

--

I dedicate this article to Taonga from Zambia.

A brief account of a panic attack.

Even as I type, I can still picture it in my brain. It is as transparent as day. The panic episode I had as a teenager that I will never forget.

In all honesty, I didn’t perform well in my SS1; my physics, chemistry, technical drawing, and geography grades were all quite low. I knew from the first two terms that I would have to redo the session, but I held out hope for a miracle in the last term (I did put in some effort, though, and I had a good score).

To make a long story short, my principal and the instructors were holding a conference at the conclusion of the session to decide who would repeat and who should withdraw. There were rumors that I was one of the students who would have to repeat a class, and they quickly spread.

My palms were sweating, I felt dizzy and nauseated, and I had a headache. My seating companion came over to tell me that I would have to retake the session, and I couldn’t even rise. My mother would be terribly unhappy, and my father is going to punish me and my friends—ooh, thoughts of disappointment rushed in. The saddest thing is that they’re leaving me on the next level, which will make us strangers.

The emotion was so strong that I wasn’t sure how I would get any sleep until the announcement, which was made in the assembly hall, the next day. Every time I think back on it, I get shivers since it was such a terrifying feeling.

Let’s go back to the real world now. I wanted you to experience what a panic attack feels like. I’m sure those of you who have had a similar experience, especially with the symptoms, may sympathize.

How to know if you are having a panic attack

I had no idea that I was going through a moderate panic attack. If you asked me to describe the sensation, I might not even be able to. If I don’t sit down immediately, I might find myself on the ground at any minute (some people who were asked to repeat did faint).

But over time, as I gained counseling expertise and experience working with clients who were having panic attacks, I was able to tie the sensation to anxiety.

Here are several indicators that you’re having a panic attack:

1. When you have perspired hands and a perspiration-covered forehead

2. After hearing some unfavorable information, your legs cannot support you.

3. Have nausea or feel like throwing up.

4. An immediate headache

5. A chest ache.

6. Tears that are pointless (most of my clients have attested to this sign).

Such indications are typical. Beyond these typical indicators, there are others. Please be aware that exhibiting even one of these symptoms does not always signal a panic attack. Four of these symptoms appeared simultaneously for me.

Immediate response to panic attacks

I’ve come to think that the fact that I was still breathing and moving prevented me from collapsing. I meant to leave by saying that I was taking my books out of my locker, packing my luggage (it was a boarding school), and doing other things that would let me leave the school as soon as possible.

It gave me a tiny bit of strength to remain in the present and take action despite the turmoil.

When suffering panic attacks, you might request the following prompt responses:

1. Keep moving; this will enable you to avoid thinking about the attack.

2. Concentrate on the here and now; avoid seeking out distractions. I tried to find distractions from friends in my situation, but it didn’t work since I could feel sympathy in everyone I glanced at. I left their company in order to go grab a few items, but I packed everything myself rather than letting them do it. This helped me concentrate on the present.

3. Surround yourself with others; this will help you get the assistance and support you need to bounce back.

4. Remind yourself that a panic attack only lasts for a short period of time and that soon everything will return to normal.

5. Get professional assistance. Having regular panic attacks is a sign of an anxiety disorder, thus you should get assistance from a counselor like myself, a psychologist, etc.

Futuristic techniques to avoid panic attacks

The majority of clients who seek help from me for panic attacks are advised to re-imagine the scenario before putting panic attack reactions into action. This enables you to plan ahead for your subsequent panic attack. Panic attacks must be treated until you have control over them; like other common mental health issues, they cannot be wished away.

Role-playing is one of the methods I employ to treat panic attacks. I let my clients visualize experiencing a panic crisis and make predictions about what will occur.

The client next acts out potential remedies that could assist them throughout the panic crisis. This method aids in controlling your thoughts when experiencing a panic attack.

You will need the assistance of a qualified mental health practitioner to use this technique. However, other methods include a healthy lifestyle and frequent expressions of gratitude.

In the comments box, please describe your experience with panic attacks and how you handled them.

Follow me on Medium for more topics, and join my email list for updates. When you sign up, a free article is available for you to read in order to maintain your mental wellness.

Join the conversation on anything relating to mental health by following me on Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, and Facebook.

Keep in mind that my top priority is your mental well-being.

--

--